Article Overview

Public Media delivering Vancouver 2010 in HD live online to your computer

Vanouver 2010 in HD live online

The European Broadcasting Union (EBU) and its Member broadcasters have launched “Vancouver Live” (, a unique video portal for winter sports enthusiasts. For the first time, will be distributing a selected number of events through the portal’s HD Channel. Live video streams in this channel will be available at a higher definition (1280x720p) providing a compelling online viewing experience.

3.000 hours of live event coverage

Furthermore ”Vancouver Live” will show the widest possible free to air broadband coverage of the Olympic Winter Games for European audiences and beyond. Live streaming will begin on Friday 12th February and continue for 17 days of competition. The video portal aggregates over 30 EBU Member broadcasters’ simulcast feeds, 6 EBU live feeds and a 24/7 Olympic News Channel showing more than 3,000 hours of live event coverage.

Access is free for viewers

Building on the success of the “Beijing Live” platform, which delivered over 22 million video streams during the Beijing 2008 Olympic Summer Games, the EBU will be offering a similar mix of live simulcast coverage from across its Member broadcasters together with extensive video on demand highlights.

Access to is free for viewers**; the EBU has worked with GE, an Olympic Worldwide Partner, to bring this premier event to online viewers across the EBU territories.


Making innovative use of Olympic new media rights

“The EBU’s live video portal ‘Vancouver Live’ promotes broad distribution of EBU Members’ coverage of the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games across EBU territories.The EBU and its Member broadcasters are committed to making innovative use of Olympic new media rights” said EBU Director General Ingrid Deltenre “European Public media are delighted to offer all, on all platforms, the widest possible coverage of the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games” she concluded.

EBU territories covered by the agreement

Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark , Egypt, Estonia, Finland, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lebanon, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uzbekistan, Vatican.

viewers within the listed EBU territories will be granted access to the video portal.