EBU Membership Endorses Incumbent Leadership for 2013-2014

Jean-Paul Philippot (RTBF/Belgium) President EBU and Claudio Cappon (RAI/Italy), Vice-President EBU

The President and Vice-President of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) were elected for a further two year term during the opening session yesterday of the EBU General Assembly in Strasbourg.

Confirmation of Jean-Paul Philippot (RTBF/Belgium) as President for a third term, and Claudio Cappon (RAI/Italy) as Vice-President, for a second full consecutive term, was unanimous.

Mr Philippot said he was gratified to have received a clear mandate from the Membership to continue the work begun in cooperation with the EBU Director General Ingrid Deltenre:

"I am very grateful for the confidence and support of our Members. I look forward to continuing to work with the Executive Board and the Director General to defend and promote the values that reflect our distinctiveness as Public Service Media, and ensure that our audiences have free access to our content on all media platforms," Mr Philippot said.


His comments were echoed by Mr Cappon, who highlighted the many achievements of the EBU Partnership Programme in empowering Members to better serve their public. Through the Programme, the EBU has established valuable alliances with international inter-governmental and non-governmental organizations, which support PSM and their mission.

"The EBU Partnership Programme embodies the principle of solidarity, which is at the heart of our Union – one of the distinctive public service media values that set us apart from commercial media," said Mr Cappon.


Additionally, Themis Themistocleous, (CYBC/Cyprus) was chosen to fill the vacant post of member of the Executive Board for the remainder of 2012. He replaces Teresa Pignatelli (Portugal).

The Executive Board comprises:
President Jean-Paul Philippot (RTBF/Belgium)
Vice-President Claudio Cappon (Rai/Italy)
Cilla Benkö (SR/Sweden)
Petr Fedorov (RTR/Russia)
Zeynel Koç (TRT/Turkey)
Rogert Mosey (BBC/UK)
Marija Nemčić (HRT/Croatia)
Rémy Pflimlin (FT/France)
Markus Schächter (ZDF/Germany)
Themis Themistocleous, (CYBC/Cyprus)
Alexander Wrabetz (ORF/Austria)


About the European Broadcasting Union (EBU)
The EBU serves 74 Members in 56 countries in and around Europe. It represents its Members and promotes the values and distinctiveness of public service media in Europe and around the world. The Eurovision and Euroradio networks deliver news, sports, events and music to EBU Members and other media organizations. Services to Members range from legal advice, technical standardization and development to coproduction and exchange of quality European content.